The region’s largest museum showcases the history of Winona County. It is located in downtown Winona at 160 Johnson Street in the historic former National Guard Armory (1915), and the recently opened modern Laird Norton Addition.
Professionally constructed exhibits examine life in Winona as lived by both lumber baron and laborer. The encircling balcony gallery — once an exercise track — houses the “County Time-Line” exhibit, which begins with the area’s unique geologic formation and a superb collection of Native Americana. The exhibit surprises visitors with the unexpected: Winona’s rowdy past, a brief history of our sewers, and the Cold War parking plans to be used during nuclear war are among the topics examined. Our hands-on children’s exhibit, “Walking Through Time,” received an award from the American Association for State and Local History; children are invited to explore a cave, teepee and river steamboat. Other exhibits include architecture, industry, farming and entertainment.
The History Center also houses the Society’s offices and the Laird Lucas Library and Archives.
Hours of Operation: Weekdays 9-5, Weekends 12-4; Offices and Archives are closed weekends.
Admission: $5 Adults, $3 Students, Free for WCHS Members, Students doing research and Children 7 and younger.
Location: 160 Johnson St., downtown Winona, MN. Map and parking information
Print our History Center Visitor Guide!
Rentals: Spaces in the Winona County History Center can be rented for your meeting or special occasion.
Click Here for more information about renting the spaces at the History Center!
Wanek Hall is our largest and most versatile space.
The Slaggie Family lobby is home to an 1884 Steinway Grand Piano.